Matthew Ritchie with Aranda\Lasch and Arup AGU - The Morning Line

Istanbul 2010

Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary celebrates Istanbul’s art program in the framework of European Capital of Culture 2010 with the sonic pavilion The Morning Line by Matthew Ritchie and Aranda\Lasch. The Morning Line – an impressive 10 meter high and 20 meter long pavilion, built of 20 tons of black coated aluminum – explores the disciplinary interplays between art, architecture, music, mathematics, cosmology, and science. New York based artist Matthew Ritchie celebrates the amazing location of The Morning Line at famous Eminönü Square just in front of the Spice Bazar: “Istanbul is the perfect venue for The Morning Line: the calligraphic design of the structure represents a contemporary version of the sacred geometry found in byzantine and ottoman architecture. As an emerging urban focus for the 21st century and a uniquely layered historic site, Istanbul offers a truly global audience for the sonic spaces and layered narratives of the work.”

As one of its essential elements, the artist conceived of the pavilion’s sonic identity. The Morning Line is saturated with fifty speakers, using a unique interactive computer controlled sound system, conceived and implemented by the Music Research Centre of York University. For the presentation in Istanbul guest sound curator Russell Haswell has invited Jana Winderen, Peter Zinovieff, Carl Michael von Hausswolff, and Yasunao Tone to conceive new acoustic works, commissioned by T-B A21. Two other new works by Ghostigital and Jónsi & Alex are also being presented for the first time in Istanbul. As The Morning Line continues to travel the world as a platform for contemporary music, and within its mandate to encourage and support the production of innovative composition wherever it tours, T-B A21 has entered a partnership with ITU - MIAM, Centre for Advanced Studies in Music, Istanbul, under the guidance of Melih Fereli, former director of the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts (IKSV), Kamran İnce, and Cihat Aşkın and has commissioned new compositions by Erdem Helvacıoğlu, Cevdet Erek, Batuhan Bozkurt, and Mehmet Can Özer.

These ten new compositions were presented as world premieres in Istanbul during the Contemporary Music Sonic Festival that followed the opening ceremonies on the 22nd of May and run until May 25 (Program). They will be added to the existing archive of music and soundscapes selected by the previous guest curators Florian Hecker and Byce Dessner. These include collaborative works by Bryce Dessner in collaboration with David Sheppard and Evan Ziporyn, and Mark Fell in collaboration with Roc Jiménez de Cisneros, and solo compositions by Bruce Gilbert, Florian Hecker, Lee Ranaldo, Chris Watson, and Thom Willems.
More information on the compositions is available here.> >

DURATION: May 22 - November 22, 2010

May 22, 2010

LOCATION: Eminönü Square, Istanbul, Turkey

The Morning Line Compositions 2008-2013

Sevilla 2008-2009
Vienna 2011
Vienna 2012
Karlsruhe 2013

Wiener Städtische Versicherungsverein
Meyer Sound Laboratories, Inc.