TBA21 Sound Space

ZKM Karlsruhe

The TBA21 Sound Space is a project commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary to bring to a larger audience the unique series of compositions that were produced for The Morning Line. The Morning Line has been conceived as an interdisciplinary platform structure by artist Matthew Ritchie and architects Aranda\Lasch and Arup AGU, where artists, architects, engineers, physicists and musicians would each contribute their own specialized information to create a new form; Saturated with over fifty speakers, The Morning Line is using a unique interactive multi-spatial sound system, conceived by Tony Myatt, Professor of Sound at the University of Surrey.

The novel spatialization software which suggested a new form of music written especially for The Morning Line has now been extended to be reproduced in the TBA21 Sound Spaces, the first of which has been developed in the context of Peter Weibel’s landmark exhibition Sound Art. Sound as a Medium of Art at ZKM Karlsruhe. To celebrate the evolution of the medium, TBA21 has put on loan its sound archive, of nearly 30 experimental sound compositions, which were commissioned over the last 4 years from an international group of composers whose work lies beyond the boundaries and the programming of traditional concert halls. The existing archive of music and soundscapes have been reconfigured through a specially written software by Tony Myatt and his team, to recreate the multispatial audio installation, which has multiple surround sound fields, some adjacent to each other and some nested inside each other in layers. This provides an experiential three-dimensional sound reproduction system within a larger scale spatial sound environment.

The compositions were curated by: Florian Hecker, Bryce Dessner, Russell Haswell and Franz Pomassl.

The composers: Alexei Borisov; Batuhan Bozkurt; Bryce Dessner with David Sheppard and Evan Ziporyn; Cevdet Erek; Mark Fell and Roc Jiménez de Cisneros; Christian Fennesz; Ghostigital; Bruce Gilbert; Tommi Grönlund & Petteri Nisunen; Carl Michael von Hausswolff; Florian Hecker; Erdem Helvacıoğlu; Jónsi & Alex; Carsten Nicolai; Mehmet Can Özer; Zsolt Olejnik; Finnbogi Pétursson; Franz Pomassl; Lee Ranaldo; Terre Thaemlitz; Yasunao Tone; Chris Watson; Thom Willems; Jana Winderen; Zavoloka; and Peter Zinovieff. > >

DURATION: April 21, 2012 - January 6, 2013

21 April 2012

LOCATION: ZKM / Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe

The exhibition Sound Art. Sound as a Medium of Art was curated by Peter Weibel and Julia Gerlach